Kansas farmers and ranchers devastated by December’s wildfires are eligible for emergency loans


WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW) — Farmers and ranchers in 10 Kansas counties affected by devastating wildfires in December can apply for emergency loans through the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA).

The December 15, 2021 wildfires were driven by high winds gusting between 60 and 100 miles per hour. The fires damaged buildings, crops, pastures, bridges, roads and public facilities. The estimated damage is $15 million.

Today the USDA announced that Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has designated two Kansas counties as primary natural disaster areas — Ellis and Russell — making them eligible for emergency loans. These counties besides Ellis and Russell are also eligible:

  • Barton
  • Ellsworth
  • Lincoln
  • whoa
  • Osborne
  • towers
  • hurry
  • Trego

This designation for natural disasters allows the USDA FSA to provide emergency loans to farmers and ranchers trying to recover from the fires. the emergency loan can be used to meet various recovery needs, including replacing essential goods such as equipment or livestock, restructuring a farm operation, or refinancing certain debts. The FSA will review the loans based on the extent of the losses, the collateral available and the ability to repay.

The deadline to apply for the loans is October 11th.

For more help options, see Farmers.govthe Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster relief fact sheet at a glanceand Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Lost Report or ask questions about available programs, contact your local representative USDA Service Center.


Comments are closed.